NIDFW in Review

(Welcome to the Net Impact DFW’s new website! We are very excited about our new platform and the future, but we didn’t want to let all of the good work we have done together since we officially launched Net Impact DFW in May 2010, just fade into the cyberspace some place. So, below is a collection of posts from our original site that nicely recaps some of the many highlights we had during our first couple of years. You can review the posts now, and the hope is that live links and maaaaybe images will be added back some time in the not-too-distant future!)  Thanks to all for the good work and good times, and we look forward to even more!)

PLAN NOW to be in Silicon Valley Oct. 24 and 25 for 2013 Net Impact Conference!

Posted by Net Impact DFW on April 15, 2013 at 3:08pm

Join nearly 3,000 like-minded impact-makers in Silicon Valley Oct. 24 and Oct. 25, and discover a culture of experimentation, breaking the boundaries of what’s possible, and going all-in on new ideas that might – and often do – change the world.
Featured keynotes
Chip Conley | Founder, Joie de Vivre Hotels
Denise Morrison | President & CEO, Campbell Soup Company
Jennifer Pahlka | Founder & Executive Director, Code for America
Premal Shah | President, Kiva
Shazi Visram | Founder & CEO, Happy Family

…and more to come!
Eleven tracks and 100+ sessions, including…
Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is: Investing in the Future of Food
Confessions of a Hiring Manager: An Insider’s Look at the Impact Job Market
Integrating Sustainability into Core Business Strategy
Government 2.0: Engaging Citizens in a New Era
Can Technology Drive a Revolution in Collaborative Consumption?
Hands-on Biomimicry: Design Inspired by Nature
The Climate-Water-Food Nexus: Market-based Solutions to Sustainable Global Development
Discounts for Net Impact Premium Members (remember to select Net Impact DFW as your chapter!). Get all of the details here.

RSVP NOW! Sept. 30 KERA screening/panel discussion about “Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide”

Posted by Net Impact DFW on September 18, 2012 at 10:00pm
Filmed in 10 countries, Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide follows Nicholas Kristof, Sheryl WuDunn, and celebrity activists America Ferrera, Diane Lane, Eva Mendes, Meg Ryan, Gabrielle Union, and Olivia Wilde on a journey to tell the stories of inspiring, courageous individuals.
Across the globe oppression is being confronted and real meaningful solutions are being fashioned through health care, education, and economic empowerment for women and girls. The linked problems of sex trafficking and forced prostitution, gender-based violence, and maternal mortality present to us the vital opportunity to make a change. All over the world women are seizing this opportunity.
This special two-part series airs Monday, October 1, and Tuesday, October 2, at 8 p.m. on KERA TV, but you can join in a community screening of part of the series on Sunday, Sept. 30.
The screening, which will be followed by a panel discussion, will be held from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. on the 30th at KERA’s studios, located at 3000 Harry Hines Boulevard.
Seating is limited and available on a first-come, first-served basis, so please RSVP via email with your first and last name and the number of guests to communitycinemaRSVP@kera.org.
KERA’s screening of “Half the Sky; Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide”, is part of the station’s multi-year Women and Girls LEAD initiative.
Following the screening will be a panel discussion lead by Lauren Embrey, president and CEO of the Embrey Family Foundation.
The panelists include:
Amy Bean, Executive Director, Foundation for the Education of Young Women

Amy Bean’s career is dedicated to bringing positive change to the lives of women and girls by addressing their most pressing issues.  Amy joined FEYW in 2009 as Associate Director. Prior to joining FEYW, Ms. Bean served as Venture Center Manager at The Center for Women & Enterprise in Boston, MA. While there, she helped women of all backgrounds to start and grow successful businesses. Amy has also enjoyed international work, and has consulted on microfinance projects in India, Mexico, and Mali. She received a Masters in Public Policy from the Harvard Kennedy School, with a focus on economic development and social entrepreneurship, and a Bachelor of Pharmacy from U.T. Austin.

Josephine Muchai, Case Manager, Mosaic Family Services

Josephine is as an immigrant from Kenya, but she has nearly 10 years experience helping refugee families adjust to life in America. She worked as an attorney in Kenya before coming here and can definitely speak about the value of education from her own experience. She has many stories to tell about how the progress of women in her home country of Kenya has been uneven. For example, while educational and political opportunities for women have progressed greatly, there is still no laws against domestic violence in Kenya. Additionally, the fact that there was no free/public education available in the country meant that socioeconomic standing played a big influence in education decisions. Education was/is often viewed as a luxury, particularly when a family is deciding between spending money to send their daughter to high school verses receiving dowry money to marry her off.

Lisa Marshall, Room to Read
Helping Students Team Leader, DFW chapter

2012 Net Impact Business as UNusual guide now available

Posted by Net Impact DFW on September 18, 2012 at 9:12pm
Net Impact’s annual Business as UNusual guide goes straight to the source to get the inside scoop on what business programs are doing to prepare students for careers that make a positive impact on the world. With more than 100 programs profiled, you can find exactly the right fit for your advanced degree.
Get more information and download the Business as UNusual report here:

A NEW LOOK: Net Impact celebrates 20 years of changing the world with new look and more

Posted by Net Impact DFW on January 30, 2012 at 11:30pmView Blog
Happy 2012! This year marks Net Impact’s 20th anniversary, and to celebrate, we’re introducing a brand new look. The organization has grown into a global network of more than 280 local chapters like ours, creating a worldwide community of changemakers. Vibrant and bold, our new logo embodies this community, and signifies the continued impact we all make through the work we do!
Learn more about Net Impact at 2 and the new look here.
Net Impact has more than 20,000 members in its 280 chapters around the world, and the breakdown looks like this:
For professional chapters:
66% work in for-profits companies
16% work for not-for-profits
10% work in education or the public sector
73% of Fortune 100 companies employ Net Impact members
98% of the Top 50 MBA Schools have Net Impact chapters

In addition to a new look, Net Impact will be rolling out improved services for Supporting Members (annual paid membership) such as the new online member network designed to help members expand connections globally, share ideas and stay plugged into the issues they care most about. When you combine the local connections you make through Net Impact DFW with the global ones available to you through the Net Impact online global member network, we like to refer to that as our GLOCAL advantage!

In addition to a complete professional profile and advanced member search options, there also is the added benefit of the brand new Member Mail feature, now in live beta mode, which allows Net Impacters to message each other across the network without having to publicly share an email address.

If you are a paid Supporting Member, to get started with the new online member network and Member Mail, just log into your account and update your profile, where you can a photo, your bio, latest work experience or education. Then search the directory and look for the “Contact via Member Mail” button on each member’s profile.
If you are interested in becoming a Supporting Member of the Net Impact DFW chapter, you can get more information here.

MARK YOUR CALENDAR: APRIL 23 – Reinventing Fire: Bold Business Solutions for the New Energy Era

Posted by Kim Young on March 19, 2012 at 9:00pm
Net Impact DFW is very proud to be join the The Dallas Institute for the Humanities and Culture and the Rocky Mountain Institute as a Community Partner for their April 23 Environmental Forum that will feature a presentation on the RMI’s Reinventing Fire: Bold Business Solutions for the New Energy Era, which offers actionable solutions for four energy-intensive sectors of the economy: transportation buildings, industry and electricity. Built on the RMI’s 30 years of research and work in the field, Reinventing Fire maps pathways for a business-led transition to running a U.S. economy in 2050 that is 158% larger than today, but that needs no oil, coal or nuclear energy.
Michael Potts, chief executive officer and president of the Rocky Mountain Institute will be the keynote speaker, and his presentation on Reinventing Fire will be followed by a panel discussion including local leaders, including Hunter Hunt, Hunt Institute for Engineering and Humanity at SM, Brent Brown, Founding Director of buildingcommunityWORKSHOP and Director of Dallas’ CityDesign Studio; and Arun Banskota, President of NRG Ener­gy’s Electric Vehicle services.
The event is from 5:30 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the Dallas Institute, which is located at 2719 Routh Street. There is a wine reception at 5:30 p.m. and a short film before Potts’ presentation begins.
Tickets for Dallas Institute, Rocky Mountain Institute and NIDFW members are $30 each. Ticket for nonmembers are $40 and for $10 for teachers. To get more information, or to purchase tickets for the event, you can go here.
To learn more about Reinventing Fire, which was written by Amory Lovins, co-founder, chairman and chief scientist of the RMI and others, you can read about the book

And you can listen to an NPR interview about Reinventing Fire

Or you can watch the video of a recent conversation Lovins had at Yale University about Reinventing Fire

 

THIS SATURDAY! REGISTER NOW – Mark Winne: “Get your hands in the dirt, get your veggies on the chopping block and get your voices down at City Hall!”

Posted by Kim Young on February 13, 2012 at 8:00pm
Make plans now to join this Saturday, Feb. 18, 2012, as we welcome national author, speaker and educator Mark Winne to discuss the state of our country’s community food systems, food policy and food security. He also will be signing copies of his latest book, “Food Rebels, Guerrilla Gardners and Smart Cookin’ Mamas: Fighting …, which will be available for purchase.
The event will be held from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. on Feb. 18, at KERA, located at 3000 Harry Hines Boulevard. The Hunger Task Force of the Memnosyne Foundation and Green Source DFW are co-sponsoring the event with Net Impact DFW.
You can RSVP now, here.
Mark, who is in DFW to be the keynote speaker for the Texas Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association Conference (Feb. 17… is co-founder of the Community Food Security Coalition where he now works as the Food Policy Council Project Director. He recently was appointed to the position of Visiting Scholar at the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health.
As a writer on food issues, Mark’s work has appeared in the Washington Post, The Nation, Sierra, Orion, and Yes!, to name a few. In addition to his latest book, he also wrote “Closing the Gap: Resetting the Table in the Land of Plenty”.
To learn more about Mark, here is the link to his website.
And you can download the news release about “Food Rebels, Guerrilla Gardners and Smart Cookin’ Mamas: Fighting Back in the Age of Industrial Agriculture” here.
Julie Thibodeaux, reporter for Green Source DFW, one of our co-spon…
It’s obvious that Mark is one of the most authoritative voices in the country on community food systems, policy and food security, and we are very honored to have him share his time with us on Feb. 18.
With the growing interest in the our local good system, this is event is certain to be of interest to many in the community, and the seating is limited, so REGISTER NOW and help us spread the word, and feel free to use the social media buttons below!

INFORM+ENGAGE+EMPOWER: Certified B Corporations Now 12 Strong in Texas!

Posted by Lori Darley on January 15, 2012 at 12:30pm
(We kicked off 2011 with a visit from B Corp’s Deborah Hirsh, who provided us with an overview of the growing movement and inspiration to work to make the model a choice for Texas sustainability minded entrepreneurs. Progress has been made toward that goal during the past year, and it is very exciting to know that there now are 12 Texas-based businesses operating with the B Corp model, including several right here in DFW! Lori Darley is our INFORM+ENGAGE+EMPOWER B Corp Community Liaison, and you can learn more about how the movement is growing in Texas from her update below!)
What do  Dolphin Blue, Inc., First Rate, Satori Capital,  and Taylor Made Press have in common? They have all met third party standards for social and environmental integrity, as certified B Corporations in Texas, along with over 488 B Corps across North America.

Like fair trade certification is for coffee or LEED certification is for green buildings, B Corp is a certification for sustainable business.   To earn certification, B Corps must meet higher legal accountability standards by doing two things:  1) amend their articles of incorporation to require consideration of stakeholder interests; (Texas is an exception here, in that Texas B Corps cannot change their articles at the moment.  However, they will be required to commit to adopting the benefit corporation structure once the legislation is passed in Texas) and, 2) meet rigorous social and environmental performance standards.  The performance standards require B Corps to earn a minimum score (80 out of 200) on the B Impact Rating System (BIRS) that assesses a company’s impact on all its stakeholders – workers, suppliers, consumers, community, and the environment. BIRS is a free, on-line resource for benchmarking your corporation’s impacts and supporting your reporting needs.  Anyone can view the rating system online.

Meeting these legal and performance standards, enables B Corps to differentiate themselves in a marketplace where everyone claims to be green, responsible, or sustainable.  As a result, B Corps are preferred by consumers, sought after by investors, and receive significant discounts on dozens of business products and services that are saving them more than $2 million each year.

B Corporations are legally structured to do more than just make money. The B Corp legal language can help protect a company’s social or environmental mission as it raises outside capital, plans management succession or defends against an unwanted acquisition offer.

While B Corps themselves benefit from certification, their collective impact is even greater.  One example is how the community of B Corps has become a powerful political constituency for public policies supporting sustainable business.  In the last two years, the B Corp community has passed legislation in seven states (MD, VT, NJ, VA , HI, CA and NY) creating legal recognition for the B Corp model as a distinct corporate entity — called a Benefit Corporation. Four other states have legislation pending and another ten are lining up for 2012.

At time of posting there are now officially twelve certified B Corporations in Texas and more coming on line soon. A grass roots committee called B Corps for Texas formed last year and continues their work  in supporting the vision of B Lab, the founding organization of the movement.  If you are interested in helping to spread the word in any way in Texas, please contact Lori Darley at lori@thetransitionscoach.com.

To learn more, B Lab’s 2011 Annual Report, “If Not Now, When?” is also available on-line.

OUR GIFT TO YOU: The Giving Gives List #2

Posted by Net Impact DFW on December 3, 2011 at 10:30am
It’s that time of year again, and Net Impact DFW is here with the second annual edition of The Giving Gives List as our gift to all of the members of our growing community!
Thank you very much for your ongoing support and commitment to working together to help make our community much more socially and environmentally sustainable.
If you are interested in kinder and gentler consumption, then we hope you will use – and SHARE! – the Giving Gives List to help discover that perfect gift from not-for-profits, social entrepreneurs, artists creating with recycled media who also give back, organic/natural grocers and greentailers, etc., locally – SO much good going on in our own backyard! – and globally.
The list was compiled from suggestions from NIDFW community members. Thank you! We have marked the listings making their first appearance on the GGL with a “NEW!”.
We do want to take a moment, and remember that the Demeter Project and its It’s a Grind and Chill Bubble Tea projects were on our inaugural list, and that, very sadly, they closed in October. They are missed!
The list has grown from last year, which we think is a very positive indicator of the growing number of GOOD choices in our community and around the world, as well as the fact that more of you are aware of and are supporting such, and that you want to share!
This is an annual effort, so keep notes throughout the year, and be sure to let us know when we ask for your suggestions again next year. And remember that you can use the GG list all year, too!

Warmest wishes for peace, joy, love, health and happiness!

NOT-FOR-PROFITS
Of course, there are many not-for-profit organizations in our community that are deserving of your support. If the person on your list has a favorite cause, but doesn’t have a specific organization they support, or you don’t know what it is, here are two good tools to help you narrow your search:

Network for Good / Good Card
Network for Good is as amazing organization that was founded in 2001 as a joint project of Cisco Systems, AOL and Yahoo!. It has evolved into one of the most respected nonprofit services platforms/organization, and “it makes it as easy to donate and volunteer online as it is to shop online, while also making it simple and affordable for all nonprofits, of any size, to recruit donors and volunteers via the Internet.” You can find out more about Network for Good’s impressive accomplishments and contributions here.
In short, Network for Good makes it easy for you find, research and donate to a organization dedicated to your favorite cause. You can go to the Network for Good website and enter in keywords, city, state, etc.to zero in your search to find the right organization for your gift/donation.
Or, you can give the Good Card, which is a gift card with stored value that can be redeemed as a donation to any of more than 1.2 million charities. Very simple: Choose the amount and choose the cause. You can send it via email or print it now. Be sure to check the deadline if you choose to have the Good Card delivered by mail before Christmas.

DonorBridge
DonorBridge is a searchable online database with detailed information about nonprofits within the Dallas and Fort
Worth region, as well as general
information about every nonprofit in the United States. Non-profits can set up their online
profile to include detailed information about their mission, management,
governance and programs offered to the DFW community, and links are provided to the organizations’ websites and online donation pages.
Locally, DonorBridge is run by Communities Foundation of Texas, with the support of The Dallas Foundation and the Center for Nonprofit Management.

NEW! Local Non-for-Profit Stores
The Family Place
Saint Vincent de Paul
Salvation Army
Goodwill

NEW! GLOBAL COMMUNITY STORES

NEW! Locally based /Connected
Hope Coffee
Tom’s Shoes

NEW! Worldwide
Global Giving
World Wildlife Fund
Novica (handmade gifts and a microcredit fund for artisits, project of National Geographic)

SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURS
NEW! Impact Foods – Very yummy, and one bag provides a hungry child with a meal!

NEW! Gaia Empowered Women – Beautiful and empowering! Online store coming soon, so make sure to check “Retailers” tab for where you can buy now! This site has wonderful pictures of Gaia’s beautiful pieces: http://sakuraphotoblog.com/archives/2691

Soap Hope

ARTS AND CRAFTS

Eye on the Sparrow Designs
Have a favorite musician who doesn’t know what to do with his or her used guitar or bass strings? Well, tell them about Abbey Chesney and the good works she is doing with such at Eye on the Sparrow Designs.

She takes strings from local musicians and crafts them into beautiful bracelets, necklaces, earrings, etc., and 25% of sales go to the Carter Albrecht Music Foundation, which was set up after popular local musician Albrecht was tragically killed in 2007 (Abbey was a close friend). To find out more about the passion that drives Abbey and Eye on the Sparrow Designs and to find out what arts or craft show she will be at next, go here and to see and purchase her designs, go here.

Oil and Cotton
’nuff said:
“Our motivating philosophy is to make do with what you got. We place a high value on the resourcefulness within ourselves and are dedicated to doing things the old-fashioned way. Whether it is
through the reuse or repurposing of materials, like turning fallen
walnuts into archival ink, or by accepting the possibilities of what can
be created by hand, we honor he pioneering spirit of our elders and the
character of our community.
“Oil and cotton are natural resources of Dallas, Texas, and also the foundation of the most basic art materials. Oil is a binder in paint and inks. The binder imparts adhesion, binds the pigments together. Cotton is used to produce textiles such as canvas and paper. We believe the arts, like most natural resources, are essential
for our survival and quality of life, and we are proud to be a part of
our local arts community.”

GREENTAILERS

Dallas

Green Living (the pioneer, first-of-its-kind in DFW)

NEW! Downing Hill – A Garden Studio

Fort Worth

The Greener Good

For Pets

NEW! Green Pet Dallas

Nice article by Green Source DFW’s Julie Thibodeaux about the three stores noted above:
http://greensourcedfw.org/articles/dallas-fort-worth-holiday-green-…

NEW!  VINTAGE, GENTLY WORN and PREVIOUSLY ENJOYED GOODS RETAILERS

Clothing

Buffalo Exchange

Miscellanea, Furniture, Clothing, etc.

Curiosities

Rose’s Garden

The Consignment Stores

NEW! 4Love – A  new twist for your favorite furniture purchase from one of the local shops listed above!

ORGANIC/NATURAL GROCERS

Urban Acres
Urban Acres is a local organic market in North Oak Cliff, and its goal is to provide our community with the very best local and organic foods while supporting Texas farm families and artisans!

NEW! Local Yocal
Farm to Market in historic Downtown McKinney

Whole Foods Markets – 30+ Years Fresh, indeed! Thank you for your support and assistance during our first year!

MARKETPLACES
IndieGenuis – Bishop Arts District, Oak Cliff.
Watch this video

NEW! LOCAL B Corp-certified businesses – Dallas now has five!
Click on this link, PUT “DALLAS” IN THE SEARCH BAR to learn about t…

NEW! PUBLICATIONS THAT SUPPORT SUSTAINABILITY

Green Source DFW

Natural Awakenings Metroplex Edition

Edible Dallas/Fort Worth

GUIDES / LISTINGS

If you want some scientifically based product and company ratings to support your consumption decisions you will want to check out the Good Guide (NEW!)
Find better products that are healthy, green and socially responsible
Search or browse over 140,000 food, toys, personal care, & household products to easily learn about the best and worst products in a category
Rely on our scientific expertise and sophisticated rating system to simplify complex and confusing product information
Get mobile advice while shopping in a store by downloading our iPhone app
Create and share personalized favorites lists of products that are right for you and your family
Here’s the scoop on The Good Guide.

Rolfe Larson, a long-time social entrepreneurship pioneer and leader of the Social Enterprise Alliance has taken it upon himself to being to compile a Social Enterprise Shopping Guide. (NEW!)
The Guide is built in Google Docs, and has no graphics, but it is a very rich source of information!  The key is to scroll to the bottom and start your search with the tabs you will find there.

AND DON’T FORGET ABOUT NET IMPACT DFW!

Gift yourself or a friend or co-worker with the GLOCAL paid membership that gives full access to all of the Net Impact community – globally and locally, one of the best sustainability focused Job Banks in the world, and the ability to participate in regular conference calls with some of the leading business and not-for-profit leaders sharing perspectives, insights and ideas about how they are working to make this a more socially and environmentally sustainable world, among other benefits.

THANK YOU! to everyone who made our first sustainability + me! a SOLD-OUT SUCCESS!

Posted by Net Impact DFW on November 26, 2011 at 1:00am
“sustainability + me! Speakers Spur Cultural Shift”

That was the headline of the story Green Source DFW reporter Julie Thibodeaux wrote about Net Impact DFW’s first sustainability + me! – simple steps to positive impact for people and planet event that was held Nov. 5 at KERA. And we thought the day was pretty special, too! The seating for this first-time event was limited to 125, and while there was no fee to attend, we received more than 125 registrations, and were very excited to declare the launch a SELL-OUT!
To get a good recap of the entire day, read Julie’s story.  (And here is her first story about s+me!) Also check out photos from the day on the home page. or if reading on a non-Flash device, go here. (Scroll down)

We have a lot of people we want to thank for making the first s+me! a reality and a big success!
Our Speakers: Margie Haley; Anna Clark, EarthPeople; Jeff Kiec, Deep Ellum Sustainability Council; Elizabeth Dry, Promise of Peace Community Garden; Mitch Fine, Morgan Stanley Smith Barney; Anthony Robinson, Axis Design; Joan Meeks, Electronic Waste Disposal; and Gary Olp, GGO Architects.
Our Venue Sponsor: – KERA
Our Media Sponsors: Green Source DFW and Natural Awakenings DFW Metroplex Edition
Our Cocktail Reception Sponsor – VeeV
Our Oh-So-Fresh Local Zip Code Honey, Butter and Bread – Susan and Brandon Pollard, the Texas Honeybee Guild
Our Community Sponsors (there were almost 40 of them, so we are going to refer you to the website we created just for s+me! And we also want to say an extra big Thank You! to the 15 Community Sponsors who had displays at the event.
NIDFW s+me! Committee – Anna Clark, Mitch Fine, Kim Young
And of course, to everyone who attended!
You can get more information on all of the above at the official sustainability + me! website.

It was such a wonderful day of information, education and community building, and we received very enthusiastic and very positive feedback afterward from attendees, sponsor, speakers – everyone! And the common questions were: “What’s next? When is the next one?”! Stay tuned!
Suffice it to say that if you weren’t at the first sustainability + me!, you should have been. But, if you want to get a sampling of the knowledge, insight and experience that was shared throughout the day, you can see copies of the seven presentations on Net Impact DFW’s slideshar… (If you reading on a mobile device, you may need to click on the “Desktop Version” in order to see all of the s+me! presentations, as two of them we had to convert into black-and-white PDFs because they contained so much good information, they exceeded our account limit!)

We are gathering feedback, input and ideas for sustainability + me! 2, and we would love to hear from you, too!
THE BUZZ is building for the launch of sustainability+me! Nov. 5; Learn more and sign up NOW!

Posted by Net Impact DFW on October 26, 2011 at 8:30pm
In case you haven’t heard yet, Net Impact DFW is launching sustainability + me! – simple steps to positive impact for people + planet on Nov. 5, from 1:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. at KERA. What is sustainability+me! ? Well, we created a website just for this special event, so just click on this link to get get all the scoop and register! OR, click on the sustainability+me! tab above!

And Wow! How exciting! We are a little more than one week away from our first sustainability+me! event and check out the buzz from our Media Co-Sponsors, Green Source DFW and Natural Awakenings, Metroplex Edition:
Green Source DFW
Check out the story:  www.greensourcedfw.org!
Thanks so much, Julie Thibodeaux, Phillip Shinoda and everyone at Green Source DFW!
Natural Awakenings – Metroplex Edition
Be sure to get the November print edition which is being distributed right now. And look for the November digital edition to be up Friday! Here is the website: www.nadallas.com/ And click on this to read Natural Awakening DFW’s November issue.
Thank you very much, Bernice Butler!
We really appreciate both of these publications, not only for believing in and supporting our vision/mission for sustainability +me!, but most importantly for being among the pioneering efforts in our community to help educate, inform, engage and involve us all in weaving a culture of sustainability in DFW and living and working in more sustainable ways!  Please support them, and ask your friends to do so, too!
Also, if you haven’t registered for sustainability+me! yet, better do so VERY soon!  Seating is limited, and we are filling up quickly! Take a look for yourself (scroll down to bottom of page), and while you are there, REGISTER NOW!

And if you want to help out with the launch of Net Impact DFW’s first sustainability+me!, please contact us at info@netimpactdfw.org

See you Nov. 5!

Must-see TV for Food Day, Great Resources and More!

Posted by Net Impact DFW on October 22, 2011 at 2:30pm

We’ve got some must-see TV tips for Sunday (tomorrow) and a great list of local resources to help you celebrate our first national Food Day on Monday, but first things first:

Thanks to everyone who joined us for our “Nourish: Food + Community” event! It was a great evening, and we owe a special thanks to our speakers: Amanda Vanhoozier, City of Coppell Community Programs (Gardens, Farmers Market, etc.), Marie Tedei, owner/farmer, Eden’s Organic Farm/CSA; Sonia White, CitySquare; Cynthia Chippindale, Potager; and Steven Bailey, Urban Acres.

We also want to give and extra big thank you to Cynthia from Potager for not only treating us to some of her incredibly delicious chocolate cake made with locally grown organic beets, but also for reaching out to some of her local community producers – Eagle Mountain Farmhouse Cheese in Granbury, Sterling Lamb from Sterling City, and Burgundy Pasture Beef in Grandview – for some very yummy award-winning cheese and very tasty salami! And of course, we want to thank our host for the evening, KERA TV.

SUNDAY, OCT. 23 – MUST-SEE FOOD DAY TV ON KERA!

To help get you ready for Food Day, KERA-TV has put together a special line-up of programs for your viewing pleasure from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. on Sunday. Make plans, set your DVR and tell/share with your friends! Brief descriptions below. Download all the details here.

1 p.m. – “Growing Hope Against Hunger”
A new Sesame Street that deals with the growing challenge of hunger in our country and offers strategies and resources to help.

2 p.m. – “Nourish: Food + Community”
Those who attended our event Thursday got a special pre-screening, and the response was great!  This beautiful documentary does a wonderful job of connecting the many dots that comprise the issue of Food.

2:30 p.m. – Independent Lens – “Dirt: The Movie”
It’s under our feet and fingernails, but what is it? And how did it get here?

3:30 p.m. – POV – “Food Inc.”
Reveals surprising, and often shocking, truths about what we eat, how it’s produced, who we have become as a nation and where we are going from here.

5:30 p.m. – Nourish: Food + Community
Even better the second time!

FEED YOUR HEAD FOR FOOD DAY!

BIG THANKS! to Amanda Vanhoozier, founder of the award-winning Coppell Farmers Market and Community Gardens, for putting together this wonderful list of local and regional resources you can use to learn more about and get
involved in the amazing ecosystem that is Food! Download your copy here, and SHARE!

If talking about food is making you hungry, then go and download the official Food Day Cookbook, and get cookin’, with local, organic ingredients, of course! AND, of course, while you are there, sign the petition asking Congress to support Food Day’s goals!

FOOD DAY DALLAS!

And to find out about more local Food Day activities, go to the  Food Day Dallas facebook page.

MARK YOUR CALENDAR: Oct. 20 – Celebrate Food Day in Dallas with “Nourish: Food + Community” special screening and panel discussion

Posted by Net Impact DFW on October 10, 2011 at 8:30pm

“NOURISH: FOOD + COMMUNITY

Net Impact DFW is very excited to join CitySquare and Slow Money DFW to present a very special evening at KERA on Thursday,  Oct. 20, to celebrate America’s first Food Day (Oct. 24), and our growing local food community and movement.
“Nourish: Food + Community” will feature a special pre-screening of the acclaimed half-hour documentary of the same name before it is broadcast on KERA and other PBS stations nationally for Food Day. The screening will be followed by the opportunity to listen, learn, connect and converse with a panel of leaders representing a broad spectrum of our local food community.

The event will be held from 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. in the Community Room at KERA, 3000 Harry Hines Boulevard. Mark you calendar, tell your friends and RSVP now for “Nourish: Food + Community”!
To find out about more local events celebrating Food Day, check out the Food Day Dallas facebook page.

With beautiful visuals and inspiring stories, “Nourish: Food + Community” traces our relationships to food from a global perspective to personal actions steps. “Nourish” illustrates how food connects to such issues as biodiversity, climate change, public health and social justice.
“Nourish”, which is hosted and narrated by Cameron Diaz, features interviews with best-selling author Michael Pollan, Alice Waters, chef, author, proprietor of Chez Panisse and an American pioneer of a culinary philosophy that maintains that cooking should be based on the finest and freshest seasonal ingredients that are produced sustainably and locally, and others. Watch the trailer below:

LISTEN    LEARN    CONNECT    CONVERSE    ENGAGE    TAKE ACTION!
Then after “Nourish”, join in the conversation with a very committed and enthusiastic panel of local leaders from our growing food community/movement who will help bring insights and action steps cited in the film home to our own backyards, tables and forks.
Our panelists are:

Sonia White
Director, Nurture, Knowledge & Nutrition
CitySquare exists to fight the root causes of poverty by partnering with those in need. Working together as a community, we feed the hungry, heal the sick, house the homeless and renew hope in the heart of our city.
The Problem
Texas has the 2nd highest rate of “food insecurity” in the U.S. and the highest rate of child hunger in the nation—1 in 5 children go to bed hungry. 88% of DISD students qualify for free and reduced price lunches at school. Unfortunately, when the school day ends, their parents’ inability to provide nutritious meals doesn’t.
Our Unique Solution
CitySquare’s Nurture, Knowledge and Nutrition (NKN) program recognizes that addressing hunger is the most cost-effective way to help low-income families.
Sonia directs both the Food Pantry and the Childrens Nutrition Programs under the umbrellas of Nurture Knowledge & Nutrition. She also has program management experience in the health care industry and human resource experience in the tire and rubber industry. Sonia also taught high school art for 10 years while earning her Masters of Science degree in Education.

Cynthia Chippindale
Owner, Chef
What we are doing at Potager Cafe is pretty simple.  We don’t poison people (we use local, organic ingredients as much as possible), and we don’t waste food (you know how much you feel like eating, and that’s how much we give you).  That’s pretty much it.  It’s time we stopped over-feeding people over-processed food that has come from thousands of miles away.  It’s time we stopped contributing to the obesity epidemic.  It’s time we got to know a farmer and let him/her know how much we appreciate what they are doing for us.

Amanda Vanhoozier
City of Coppell Community Programs
Amanda grew up enjoying the Rocky Mountain air by Yellowstone Park. Her love of the outdoors led to specializing in Outdoor Learning Environments as a graduate of University of Kansas. She was the founder of the award-winning Coppell Community Garden in 1998, and the Coppell Farmers Market in 2003, with the support of the City of Coppell and dedicated volunteers.
The Coppell Community Garden cultivates a healthy community through two community gardens, a farmers market, and environmental education classes.  Community gardening is the catalyst for volunteer gardeners sharing the harvest of over 114,000 pounds of organic produce donated to Metrocrest Social Services, learning organic gardening practices in growing food, and building productive relationships.

Steven Bailey
Owner
Urban Acres is a local organic market, and our goal is to provide our community with the very best local and organic foods while supporting Texas farm families and artisans.  Our store is located in North Oak Cliff, just across the river from downtown Dallas.
Our farm store allows small farmers and local artisans to have a voice and share their gifts.  We also created a “co-op style” produce system that makes shopping easy and trying new veggies fun.  All of us here at Urban Acres got really tired of not knowing where our food comes from, and we like taking care of the Earth by getting food from around the corner and not a million miles away.
So that’s us…Urban Acres.  We love local.  We believe in organic.  And we are passionate about food!

This is certain to be a very compelling, thought-provoking and energizing evening looking at the growing movement for good food, around the globe and right here in DFW. And what a great way to participate in the local celebration leading up to Food Day on Oct. 24!
You definitely don’t want to miss it, so grab your digital or analog calendar now, tell your friends, associates and neighbors, and RSVP right now to join us for “Nourish: Food + Community” on Oct. 20 at KERA!

After you RSVP for “Nourish” on Oct. 20, download your Food Day recipe book: FoodDay_recipes_1006_final.pdf
And if you want to find out more about locally grown food use the search box below:

THIS THURSDAY, SEPT. 15 – Celebrate Year One and Kick Off Year Two at SMOKE!

Posted by Net Impact DFW on September 13, 2011 at 12:00am
Can you believe it’s been a year (and a couple of months) since we got together at SMOKE to officially launch Net Impact DFW? Thank you, everyone! Pat yourself on the back!
Well, because we definitely had a Year One to celebrate, and because we have some exciting plans for Year Two, we thought it only fitting to get everyone together again at SMOKE (Thank you Christopher and Tim!)
So make plans right now to join us THIS THURSDAY, Sept. 15, from 6 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Go ahead and RSVP now, here!
In addition to getting folks back together and networking after a long, hot summer, we also will have some exciting announcements about new partnerships, project and events, and we also will introduce you to new members of the NIDFW leadership team.
Put this celebration on your calendar right now, and invite your friends!

Follow the arrow! We look forward to seeing you at SMOKE this Thursday!

Podcast and slide presenation from Marc Lane event now available!

Posted by Net Impact DFW on July 11, 2011 at 1:00am
If you weren’t able to make the June 30 event featuring nationally noted author, attorney and entrepreneur/social entrepreneur guru and L3C pioneer Marc Lane, then you will be glad to know that you can do the next best thing: Listen to his entire presentation via podcast and see his slide presentation right now!

It was a very informative, enlightening and educational evening with a thoroughly engaging, committed and highly knowledgeable expert. Thank you again very much, Marc!

We also would like to extend our thanks to the North Texas chapter of the Social Enterprise Alliance. It was great partnering with you, and we look forward to doing more together in the near future!

Click here to listen to all of Marc’s 90-minute talk, including the question-and-answer session. You also can view his slide presentation below, or download a PDF copy.
And if you know individuals and/or organizations that could benefit from Marc’s perspective and insight, please share the podcast and slide presentation with all!

JOIN US June 30! – Marc Lane to discuss L3C model, social enterprise legal issues

Posted by Net Impact DFW on June 8, 2011 at 1:00am
Net Impact DFW is proud to join with the new North Texas chapter of the Social Enterprise Alliance to co-host a very special conversation with nationally recognized author, attorney, L3C business model, social enterprise law and entrepreneurship expert Marc Lane on June 30.
The event, “Are You  a .COM or a .ORG?”, which will be held from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at the Oak Room at the Center for Community Cooperation, 2000 Live Oak Street, is the second in NIDFW’s “Socially Responsible Business – New Models for Change” series.
Net Impact DFW and North Texas Social Enterprise Alliance members can get tickets for only $25 per person. Tickets for non-members are $35 each. Purchase tickets here, and these are Ticket Purchase Directions on how best to navigate the ticket system. Light refreshments will be served.
SEATING IS LIMITED FOR THIS SPECIAL EVENT, SO GET YOUR TICKETS NOW!
Marc is an innovator in helping social enterprises and social entrepreneurs leverage capital to maximize financial results while driving positive social change. He is founder of the Marc J. Lane Wealth Group, and he teaches Social Enterprise at Northwestern University School of Law. Marc is the author of 34 books, and he is the pioneer behind the Advocacy Investing approach to socially responsible and mission-related investing (www.advocacyinvesting.com).
Marc also is actively involved in supporting L3C (Low-profit Limited Liability Company) legislation, which authorizes the new hybrid business form that can leverage foundations’ program-related investments to access trillions of dollars of market-driven capital for ventures with modest financial prospects, but the possibility of major social impact.

During the June 30 “Are You a .COM or a .ORG?”event, Marc will discuss:
The L3C Business Model – and how social enterprises can benefit now
(Check out the L3C Group on Linkedin and watch Marc explain the L3C model in the seven-part video series)
Relieving Legal Tension – between financial and social objectives
Understanding Social and Enterprise Legal Issues
Reducing the risks and financial burden of earned-income social ventures
Leveraging foundaitons’ “program-related investments” to attract private sector capital for earned-income ventures
Converting Nonprofit Funders – into social venture capitalists

It is a very exciting opportunity to have a nationally recognized and respected expert such as Marc Lane visit our community to have a conversation about the many aspects and emerging trends/issues of social entrepreneurship, so make plans and get your tickets now to join other Net Impact DFW and North Texas Social Enterprise Alliance members on June 30

Happy Earth Day! Celebrate with us and Magnify Your Impact! with free downloads.

Posted by Net Impact DFW on April 21, 2011 at 10:30pm
Happy 41st Earth Day!
Want some ideas on what you can do to participate today and every day to Magnify Your Impact! for environmental and social good? Well, we have some suggestions for you:
Magnify Your Impact! with Net Impact DFW and grab these Business as UNusual freebies
To celebrate positive change today and every day, learn more about how Net Impact DFW provides you with local and global networks and resources to help better equip you to do such. Combine NIDFW’s local programs and connections with Net Impact’s growing global network and extensive educational resources, and it’s easy to see how you can magnify your impact to build a better world – with people here in Dallas/Fort Worth and around the world. Make Earth Day the day you start, join Net Impact DFW today!
Don’t forget to download your free copies of Corporate Careers That Make a Difference: Guide to a Career in Corporate Citizenship and Making Your Impact at Work: A Guide to Changing the World From Inside a Company.
And don’t forget to come visit us today and Saturday at Booth #509 …
A Billion Acts of Green
The Earth Day Network has a lot of ideas for you. Pledge and act now and become part of the billion-person movement to save the planet.
So what are you waiting for?  Get going! Our community and the world need you!
SAVE THE DATE: Jan. 26th – B Corporation, Slow Money Texas execs help kick off 2011, new program series

Posted by Net Impact DFW on January 11, 2011 at 11:00pm
“Socially Responsible Business: New Models for Change” is the new series of informational programs that Net Impact DFW will kick off this month as part of an ongoing effort to offer a closer look at a variety of nationally evolving socially conscious business and investment models that are taking hold in Texas, and Dallas-Fort Worth.
Deborah Hirsh, B Corporation community development director, and Joanne Marino, executive director of Slow Money Texas, will give presentations and participate in a panel discussion and a Q&A session on Jan. 26, from 6 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. in the Community Room at KERA (the TV/radio station).
Buzz is already building about this event, so be sure to RSVP now!

www.bcorporation.net
Deborah Hirsh, director of community development for the B Lab Core team, will explain key elements of the B Corporation movement that is spreading across the country, including efforts to bring the model to Texas businesses and entrepreneurs.
B Lab is a 501(c)3 dedicated to using the power of business to solve social and environmental problems. One of B Lab’s primary initiatives is to build a community of Certified B Corporations to make it easier to differentiate between “good companies” and just good marketing. Certified B Corporations are companies that meet comprehensive and transparent social and environmental performance standards, as well as higher legal accountability standards. By enabling consumers, investors and policy makers to support these high-impact companies. B Lab fulfills its mission to help these businesses to scale to impact.
B Lab’s other two initiatives focus on supporting this growing ecosystem of companies creating good. The first is the development of the Global Impact Investing Ratings System (GIIRS) in order to drive institutional investment to high impact global private equity investments. B Lab’s third initiative is to advance public policies to assist high-impact companies to maintain their social and environmental commitments, including the creation of a new corporate form, like the recently passed Benefit Corp legislation in Vermont and Maryland, as well as initiatives for sustainable business, such as the tax break given to B Coporations in Philadelphia.
B Lab is a 501(c)3 governed by a process of broad, transparent multi-stakeholder engagement. The Board of Directors has convened two independent Standards Advisory Councils that oversee the certification and auditing requirements for B Corporations and GIIRS rated companies in both developed and emerging markets.
Deborah has worked with B Lab since 2008, helping to support the growing community of Certified B Corporations, which are companies that have qualified to be such by meeting a comprehensive set of rigorous social and environmental performance standards. She has worked with social and economic justice initiatives for 20 years, focusing on market-based models for social and environmental impact for the past 10 years.
From 2000-2006, Deborah worked for the Fair Trade Certification initiative for the US market, TransFair USA, developing and managing consumer education and coffee programs. She is passionate about harnessing the power of business and the consumer to drive social and environmental change.
Be sure to check out B Lab’s new “Better” awareness campaign.

www.slowmoneytexas.org

Joanne Marino, executive director for Slow Money Texas, will discuss how the organization seeks to work with the national Slow Money Alliance to fundamentally change how people in Texas think about sustainability and how to deploy investment capital – from institutional funds to individual portfolios – for local, sustainable food systems.
In 2010, Marino and a core group launched the Slow Money Austin chapter. Their efforts have led to more than $1.5 million being invested in Texas-based sustainable businesses. The concept of Slow Money Texas evolved, and it since has become a leader within the Slow Money Alliance and a key collaborator in converting a grassroots movement into an organized force that can catalyze investment in local and sustainable food systems.
Slow Money Texas is an ardent catalyst for what will be the world’s most important investment and entrepreneurial sector. Its focus is to help establish Texas as a sustainability leader and to reveal sustainable agriculture as the growth business opportunity that it is for our health, our economy, our community, our environment and our future. The organization also is dedicated to encouraging key participants and stakeholders to nurture and grow at the source, to expanding product channels, inspiring entrepreneurial thinking, mitigating challenges such as energy use and policy making and to increase consumer awareness.
Initiatives that Slow Money Texas is establishing to benefit all of Texas include a 2020 Food System Roadmap to Sustainability; farm and food enterprise mentorship and incubator programs and shareholder resources, education, tools and best practices.
Marino also will share plans to expand Slow Money Texas via local chapters here in DFW, Houston, San Antonio and more.
To learn more about Slow Money, check out these two videos:

Fast Money, Slow Money
Growing Slow Money

Make plans with your friends now to join Net Impact DFW, B Corporation and Slow Money Texas on the 26th to learn about these New Models for Change!

FIRST PERSON: How does the Pune, India NI Chapter keep getting Top Chapter awards – year after year after year?

Posted by Net Impact DFW on December 9, 2010 at 10:00pm
Ask NIDFW’s own board member, Ravi Agrawal! Net Impact’s Top Chapters of the Year Awards are given to the most outstanding chapters in the Net Impact global network. This year’s recipients were announced at the 2010 Net Impact Conference on October 30. Chapters were evaluated on their management, chapter activities, support of their membership, impact on their school and community, and their support of the broader Net Impact network.
Submissions were reviewed by Net Impact staff and guest judges.
Awards were presented in six categories, and one of those was International Professional Chapter of the Year. That designation was earned by the Pune, India chapter for extensive work with its community on an important traffic optimization project.
The Pune chapter won the same award in 2009 and received the Rookie International Chapter of the Year in 2008! But wait, there’s more! It also has been recognized as a Gold Chapter since its inception in 2008!
The Pune chapter has been a dynamo since the beginning, and its 2010 project was a major undertaking with very impressive results. And that is why we feel so fortunate to have one of its founding members and project leaders serving on the board of our new Net Impact DFW chapter! Ravikant Agrawal is a business consultant for Cognizant Technology Solutions, in addition to being a founding board member of NIDFW.
We asked Ravi if he would give us an overview of the project that helped the Pune chapter garner the 2010 Professional International Chapter of the Year Award, and he kindly agreed! You can download and read his overview by going here:
NIPune_HTO_Write_up_V1.doc
Congratulations to the Pune chapter – and to all of the Top Chapters! And congratulations to Ravi for your efforts while in Pune, and thank you for being part of the NIDFW leadership team! We look forward to learning a lot from you, and to being among the list of Top Chapter winners in the near future!
Also, mark your calendars now for the 19th Annual Net Impact 2011 Conference, which will be held Oct. 28 and 29 in Portland Oregon, one of our nation’s greenest communities, at the LEED-certified Oregon Convention Center. Based on the increasing popularity of the annual Net Impact conference, the conference is transitioning from a university setting to be hosted at a convention facility.
The Net Impact Conference is the largest gathering in the world to bring together both students and professionals to explore the latest ideas, tools, and careers that use business to achieve social and environmental good. Designed to help members expand their vision of possibility in the world of business, the conference mobilizes professionals and aspiring changemakers for a wide array of keynotes, panels, case studies, simulations, and special events

$3,800 for Carrotmob! Didn’t make it? Check out the video!

Posted by Net Impact DFW on October 31, 2010 at 7:00pm
Net Impact DFW partnered up with Dallas Greendrinks for this historic event, part of the TEDxSMU Idea Week. Dallas’ first-ever Carrotmob generated $3,800 in revenue, of which 81.5% will be plugged back into LaGrange’s energy efficiency efforts.

Check out the fun in this highlight video.

October: The month of Ideas! What a treat!

Posted by Net Impact DFW on October 6, 2010 at 2:00am
What an amazing month October is

for discovering new ideas, sharing information about innovators and sparking conversations about it all, and Net Impact DFW is smack dab in the middle of it!

October plays host to the first Dallas Idea Week – 11th-15, which leads up to the 2nd annual TEDxSMU on the 16th. And Net Impact DFW is proud to be an inaugural partner of Idea Week, co-hosting Texas’ first Carrotmob with Dallas Green Drinks and launching ideacast in collaboration with Mark Neace and DFW Green TV.

The buzz is growing quickly about Texas’s first Carrotmob at La Grange in Deep Ellum on Oct. 13. Twelve restaurants/bars bid for the opportunity to get the Carrotmob’s business for the day and to take a percentage of its revenues and re-invest them in improving its energy efficiency. La Grange was the winning bidder, offering to take 81.5% of its sales on the 13th, and use that money to reduce energy usage at the popular Deep Ellum restaurant, which also was selected as the Dallas Observer’s 2010 Bar of the Year. Excitement is mounting, and you can read the news release – PRESS RELEASE Carrotmob.pdf and keep up on all of the latest details on the Dallas Carrotmob blog. Make plans now to join the Carrotmob at La Grange on the 13th, from 5 p.m. to midnight, and bring your friends, too!

We also are very excited to launch ideacast Idea Week! ideacast is a multichannel series of stories and conversations about ideas and people in the DFW area who are changing the world for the better and how they are doing it. We are proud to partner with DFW Green TV on our Idea Week premiere and on other future ideacast collaborations. Stay tuned for more details about ideacast’s premiere.

Whole Foods: 30 Year Fresh! Join us Sept. 30 to celebrate and find out how they did it!

Posted by Net Impact DFW on September 10, 2010 at 8:00pm
How many employees did Whole Foods start out with? When did organic retail food sales first reach $1 billion in the United States? When was the very first FORTUNE “100 Best Companies to Work For” list, and what Austin-based organic grocer was on it? When did Whole Foods become the first nationally Certified Organic Grocer and discontinued selling products that contained hydrogenated fats? When did Whole Foods first go international, and where? When did they eliminate disposable plastic bags at checkout? And what was added as the 7th Core Value?

You can find out the answers to these any many more questions on Thursday, Sept. 30, when Net Impact DFW helps Whole Foods celebrate its 30th birthday. Join us from 6 p.m. to 8:30 pm. for informative tours of the landmark Park Lane store, the newest Whole Foods store in North Texas. This store is one of the anchor tenants of an urban mixed-use development that features a DART light rail stop, so plan your trip accordingly.

With the tours (questions welcome!), plenty of networking, a spacious outdoor patio on a Fall evening, wine sampling and more, this is certain to be a event you will not want to miss! To make certain everyone who wants to take a tour will be able to hear and also be able to ask questions, there will be four (4) scheduled tours with start times at 6:30 p.m.; 7:00 p.m.; 7:30 p.m.; and 8:00 p.m. The size of each tour will be limited to 15 people. You can sign up for a tour time at the event.

So register and RSVP now. And encourage your friends to come with you to learn more about how one Austin start-up began changing the world 30 years ago, and hasn’t stopped since. Whole Foods: 30 Years Fresh! Indeed!

What a great Kick Off!

Posted by Net Impact DFW on June 1, 2010 at 7:00pm
More than 60 area professionals from business, nonprofits and education came out to help the Net Impact Dallas/Fort Worth chapter celebrate its official Kick Off last Wednesday at SMOKE. And what energy and enthusiasm all evening!

In between the great conversations and networking, members of the NIDFW board shared examples of how the organization helps connect, inspire, educate and equip professionals to use the power of business to improve the community and the world.

Then our guest speakers – and hosts – Christopher Jeffers, co-owner SMOKE, Bolsa, 48Nights, and Tim Byres, noted chef and co-owner of SMOKE, shared stories about how they first came to sustainability through necessity in starting and operating their restaurants. They also shared the challenges and rewards of being among the first in the area to try to offer a true farm-to-fork menu. While trying to source as much as possible from local farmers often takes more time and effort than just placing a call to a large local purveyor, Byres said they aspire to one day have a menu comprised of 100-percent locally grown food.

Byres, Jeffers and SMOKE and Bolsa last month were recognized for their food and community efforts by the James Beard Foundation, Share Our Strength/Taste of the Nation. Byres also has been asked to travel to The White House to meet with First Lady Michelle Obama about her national program to help battle childhood obesity. The plans include Byres bringing back a model program to implement in a Dallas area school.

The evening was made even more special through the generosity of gift certificates from SMOKE and Move Studio. SMOKE donated a $100 gift certificate, which was won by Casey Reagan with Rebuilding Together-Greater Dallas. Robin Parker, owner of Move Studio, donated four passes to her studio, and those were won by Dana Heter of Direct Strategies.

Thank you to EVERYONE who came out to celebrate and especially to those who worked hard for many months to make the Kick Off a reality. And don’t forget to check out photos from the Kick Off and to tell your friends! And remember to find join us on facebook and follow us on twitter.

Here we go!

Leave a Reply